Safety Awards and Certificates

TOTE Services Safety Awards

Jones F. Devlin Award

Ships managed and crewed by TOTE Services have received the Devlin Award for the last 15 years.  In 2017, 13 vessels were recognized (listed below).

Vessel Name  (Years without an Environmental incident)

  • JEAN ANNE   (12)
  • MARJORIE C  (2)
  • NORTH STAR   (4)
  • ALTAIR  (18)
  • ANTARES  (5)
  • BELLATRIX   (11)
  • DENEBOLA  (5)
  • PETERSBURG   (23)
  • REGULUS  (5)
  • HONOR  (4)


About the Jones F. Devlin Award:

The Jones F. Devlin Award is one of two safety programs theh Chamber of Shipping of America (CSA) has sponsored since 1968. The award publicly recognizes the skills and dedication of the men and women who are responsible for safe vessel operations. The award, which is open to CSA members and non-members alike, is presented at the Annual Safety Awards Luncheon held in June each year.

Devlin Award Certificates are awarded to all manned merchant vessels that have operated for two full years or more without a crew member losing a full turn at watch because of an occupational injury.

To qualify for a Devlin Award Certificate, a vessel must be in operation with a full crew. Days in protracted lay-up resulting in crew reduction are not considered days in operation.


Ships Safety Achievement Award

Ships managed and crewed by TOTE Services have received the Safety Achievement Award 6 times in the last 27 years.  This award is presented to vessels that have performed outstanding feats of safety during the course of a calendar year. This may include but is not limited to: rescue; assistance to distressed vessels; transfer of ill or injured persons under difficult sea conditions; and demonstrations of safety and ship operations which have contributed to saving a life or a ship. They are actions in which the ship and crew as a whole were involved rather than individual achievement.

Vessels Receiving Ships Safety Achievement Award

  • Great Land – 1980
  • El Morro – 2003
  • Patriot – 2005
  • Independence – 2006
  • Courage – 2008
  • Patriot – 2008